Appointment or renewal reminder appears in victims’ calendar to lure them into logging in to fake Google, Microsoft or PayPal pageYou’re preparing for the week ahead and take a look at your Google calendar. There’s an entry for a meeting that you must have completely forgotten. The note that pops up when you click on it says you’ll be reviewing a project and includes a link to more details. Confused, you follow it to find out more; the website you land on asks for logon details, and you provide them.Unfortunately, this was not a failure of your memory but a calendar phishing scam. You have handed your name and password to fraudsters who will sell it on in a batch with other people’s details, use it to break into your work email, or to persuade you that they are <a href=”https://www.theguardian.com/money/2026/aug/30/new-payment-set-up-get-in-touch-the-bank-scam-where-your-bank-is-the-scammer”>contacting you from your bank, or another institution. <a href=”https://www.theguardian.com/money/2026/oct/11/calendar-phishing-scam-meeting-renewal-google-microsoft-paypal”>Continue reading…
First seen on theguardian.com
Jump to article: www.theguardian.com/money/2026/oct/11/calendar-phishing-scam-meeting-renewal-google-microsoft-paypal
![]()

